Meeting Minutes Bois de Sioux and Mustinka Watersheds 1W1P Policy Committee

March 7, 2019 at 1:30 pm

Member Organizations	Committee Representative	Designated Alternate
Big Stone County	Commissioner Jay Backer	
Big Stone SWCD	Supervisor Dan Morrill	
Grant County	Commissioner Bill LaValley	Commissioner Doyle Sperr
Grant SWCD	Supervisor Randy Larson	Sup. Odell Christenson [Absent]
Otter Tail County	Commissioner John Lindquist	Com. Lee Rogness [Absent]
West Otter Tail SWCD	Supervisor John Walkup	Supervisor Richard Viger [Absent]
Stevens County	Commissioner Ron Staples	Commissioner Neil Wiese [Absent]
Stevens SWCD	Supervisor Greg Fynboh [Absent]	Supervisor Debbie Anderson
Traverse County	Commissioner Tom Monson	Commissioner Kevin Leininger [Absent]
Traverse SWCD	Supervisor Chester Raguse	Supervisor Carol Johnson
Wilkin County	Commissioner Eric Klindt	Commissioner Dennis Larson [Absent]
Wilkin SWCD	Supervisor Kyle Gowin	Supervisor Josh Deal [Absent]
Bois de Sioux Watershed	Manager Linda Vavra	Manager Allen Wold [Absent]

Also Present

Henry VanOffelen, BWSR Pete Waller, BWSR Jamie Beyer, BdSWD Rachel Olm, HEI Kris Guentzel, HEI

1. Call to order

2. Introductions

3. Approve Last Meeting's Minutes

Upon motion by Backer, seconded by LaValley and carried unanimously, the Minutes of February 22, 2019 were approved.

4. Recommend for Approval Claims

An invoice from HEI in the amount of \$3,802.50 was reviewed. Upon motion by Monson, seconded by Vavra and carried unanimously, was recommended to BdSWD for payment. In January, BdSWD did receive a 50% payment of grant funds from BWSR.

5. Advisory Committee Roster

Committee members reviewed the following recommendations from the Steering Committee, which were approved by motion by LaValley, seconded by Backer and carried unanimously:

- Membership on the Advisory Committee will continue to be composed of the Steering Committee and 5 state agency representatives.
- Additional stakeholders/local experts will be brought in to discuss topics that are relevant to them.

- Stakeholders/outside experts will be identified and distributed equally.
- Steering Committee member attendance will be recommended, but not mandatory, at Advisory Committee Meetings.
- A minimum of three Steering Committee members must attend every Advisory Committee meeting.

HEI will prepare a standard contact message to be sent by delegated Steering Committee members to the identified stakeholders/local experts.

6. Plan Outline

Upon motion by Lindquist, seconded by Larson and carried unanimously, the Plan Outline was approved as presented.

7. Planning Boundary and Planning Regions

HEI presented details on the difference between BWSR's BdSWD 1970's district boundary map, the current BdSWD boundary map, and the proposed BdSWD boundary map (that includes revisions to the Southern Boundary) that is currently under consideration for approval by BWSR. Upon motion by Vavra, seconded by Larson and carried unanimously, committee members approved submission of the updated 1W1Plan boundary to BWSR, contingent upon BWSR's ratification of the boundary adjustment.

Moore Engineering confirmed that the new planning regions reflect the consensus reached at the previous Joint Committee meeting. Upon motion Morrill, seconded by LaValley and carried unanimously, the five planning regions were approved.

8. Participation Plan

Upon motion by Walkup, seconded by Vavra, the Participation Plan was approved with the following additions recommended by the Steering Committee:

- 1. "No less than 3 Steering Committee members will attend Advisory Committee meetings."
- 2. "If Steering Committee absences becomes evident, at the discretion of the Steering Committee, Steering Committee member must attend Policy Committee meeting to explain absence."

Staples requested that, in the future, changes/suggestions/additions/edits are given to the Policy Committee in advance of the meeting, in order that the Policy Committee members have time to review and consider the information.

9. Revised Issues Table

Committee members reviewed the table. Changes/comments/edits/additions are due to bdswd@runestone.net on or by March 15, 2019.

10. Public Kickoff Meetings

Committee members voiced support for the following recommendations from the Policy Committee: Wheaton and Wendell to act as sites to host the Public Kickoff meetings, which should be scheduled for the second week of April, from 7 – 8:30 pm. Light hors d'oeuvres could be served. BdSWD will put together a press release, and Traverse SWCD will put together an ad, and both will be distributed to the group for

posting to social media sites. Committee members are invited to attend both meetings, but at a minimum should attend:

• Wendell: Grant, Ottertail, Wilkin

• Wheaton: Traverse, Big Stone, Stevens